Low Fat Two-Tone Cheese Tart (w vegan option)

If only Santa were real (little kids who happen to chance upon this post, sorry for breaking your innocent little hearts). But there still is God. I think He already knows what we want and tries to give us some of our wishes too. Still, my mum always reminds me that we still have to tell Him too because it makes a difference. I’m not sure why though. 

.

This Christmas, I wish

  1. For real friends, who I don’t feel awkward and fake talking to
  2. For my dad to get a better job (that he also likes)
  3. For my mum to be happy with hers and get along with her colleagues
  4. that I’ll be on my way to making my dreams come true
  5. For good friends, for real friends, for friends I’m comfortable with, I can’t say this enough
  6. to eat what I want whenever I want and not gain weight (or better still be able to lose weight haha– learnt this from 黄鸿升)
  7. my whole family to be healthy and happy
  8. be happy, be happy, be happy
.
I just made my first successful tart, and I want to share it with all of you!
.
.

.

.

Two Tone Cheese Tart

No. of servings: 5

Print Friendly and PDF

.

Ingredients

For Wholegrain Shortbread Crust
  • 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup oat flour
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup light margarine/butter
  • 1 tsp low fat cream cheese (vegan: tofutti)
.
For Cappuccino Cream Cheese filling
  • 8 tbsp/ 4 oz low fat cream cheese (vegan: tofutti)
  • 1 tsp nonfat yogurt (or more cream cheese)
  • 1/2 tsp instant coffee powder
  • 1 egg (vegan: 1/4 cup pureed silken tofu)
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup sugar
For Chocolate PB Cream Cheese filling
  • 8 tbsp/ 4 oz low fat cream cheese (vegan: tofutti)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips (vegan: vegan choco chips)
  • 2 tbs unsweetened cocoa powder
.
.

Directions

For Wholegrain Crust
1. Blend ingredients in a blender/food processor till a dough forms.
2. Wrap in cling film and refrigerate for 10 minutes.
3. Roll out into a 0.5 cm layer.
4. Press into pie mould and bake at 350°F/180°C for 10 minutes.


Cappuccino Cream Cheese filling:

5. Whip cream cheese with a hand mixer or stand mixer.
6. Add sugar and continue mixing.
7. Add remaining ingredients and mix till well blended.
8. Pour over baked shortbread crust and bake at 350°F/180°C for another 10 minutes.
.

Chocolate PB Cream Cheese filling:
Note: takes longer time if using broiler.

9. Melt chocolate chips using broiler or in a microwave for 60 seconds. 
10. Add PB and mix till smooth. Return to broiler or in microwave for 30 seconds.
11. Add in remaining ingredients.
12. Return to broiler or in microwave for 30 seconds and mix till smooth.
13. Pour mixture over baked tart with the first layer.
14. Freeze for 2 hours before serving.

.

.
A pictorial view of the layers
.
.
.

.
Enjoy your Christmas treat!
.
.

I am submitting my post to Aspiring Bakers #14: Creative Christmas Bakes (December 2011) hosted by Hankerie!

Many thanks to Han Ker for hosting!! 😀

.

Also submitted to Very Good Recipes’ White Christmas Recipe Challenge!

.

.
2 thoughts on “Low Fat Two-Tone Cheese Tart (w vegan option)”

Leave a Reply

